Using a Wacom Tablet

I just purchased a Wacom Intuos Pen Tablet for use with my laptop. Talk about trying to get used to something. I thought that it would help when using my photo software but I’m beginning to think I’m better off with the finger pad and/or a mouse. The pen has to hover over the pad and doesn’t seem to line up properly with the screen and even though I’ve tried slowing it down in the preferences menu it still reacts too quickly.
How many people are using it and do you have any tips for me. Right now I think it’s headed back for a refund.

Help!

Persist. It does take some getting used to, but soooo much better for photo retouching. I still use my mouse for everyday tasks.

As far as hover goes, you can turn that off from memory. Just go into your preferences and set up your tablet to your preferred way of working.

Harry I agree with @Seabreeze. Don’t give up too soon. I have been using the Intuos Pro for about 3 years and believe me it is soooo much easier to edit photos, draw masks etc etc. You can work much more precise than you can with a mouse. You need to get used to holding the pen and draw but keep your eyes on the screen. This takes a couple of days but then you will love it.

1 Like

I’ve put it on “Mouse” in the preferences but it still seems to have a “hover” to it. I’ll try for a few more days.

Peter I’ll give it a few more days and trials.

Harry, it took me days to get used to it. I now love it. You will too. Just work through the menu system to make it work for you.

The nibs wear out really fast, so my advice is to only use your pen on important and necessary work. Otherwise use your mouse.

Yep, it hovers. I think you can turn that off

1 Like

I bought an Intuos Pro as well - and got me the ultra-expensive Art Pen to go with it! Must admit, I knew there’d be a learning-curve with it, and I still go back to mouse and (Surface Pro) finger!!!